Category Archives: Guides

New Referencing Support site

The Library’s Referencing Guide has been updated to improve access support resources, such as our online referencing textbook, Cite them Right, the site also now provides access to our new online skills development platform, Skills for Study. These platforms provide advice for referencing and detailed guidance on the referencing style required on your programme.

You can see all referencing PDF guides under the Referencing tab of the Library for Online Programmes with additional videos and support materials linked on the Library’s Referencing Guide. If a PDF you require is not shown on the Library’s Referencing Guide, please check the Referencing tab on the Library for Online Programmes.

Online staff are advised to use permalinks to Library guides when linking in online modules or Web pages, a list of all permalinks is shown on the Library for Online Programmes staff page.

Interactive Resources: Box of Broadcasts, Biblioboard, Henry Stewart Seminars

Box of broadcasts provides archival video from the UK BBC telivison programmes, including a wide range of educational, scientific, health-related, management, humanities and other subject coverage. You can see a link to Box of Broadcasts in the E-Resources > E-Journals > A-Z of databases or see the ‘Subject Highlights‘ area of the Library for Online Programmes Note – users outside the UK will need to use our Web Apps or UoL VPN client to access Box of Broadcasts, see our login help page for advice.

The Henry Stewart Seminars provide a wide range of scholarly and professional online presentations and video on a range of subjects ranging from health, education, management and the humanities. You can see a link to the Henry Stewart Seminars in the E-Resources > E-Journals > A-Z of databases or see the ‘Subject Highlights‘ area of the Library for Online Programmes:

Biblioboard provides archive materials, including textbooks, archival papers, images and commentary arranged by topical themes on a range of subjects ranging from health, education, management and the humanities. You can see a link to Biblioboard in the E-Resources > E-Journals > A-Z of databases or see the ‘Subject Highlights‘ area of the Library for Online Programmes:

For further help or advice on these databases please see the online help provided within these platforms or contact your Librarian.

Manage your References with Refworks – Updated Step by Step Guide

Please see our updated step-by-step guide to using the Refworks application to manage your references.

RefWorks is a reference manager used to gather and manage your references and create bibliographies from your list of references. Refworks can also import references automatically from many databases/platforms such as Discover. Refworks runs entirely in your Web browser.

You can find this guide under the Referencing area of the Library for Online Programmes or see the “Refworks Guides/ Video” icon in the right menu of the Library for Online Programmes.

http://libguides.liv.ac.uk/onlineprogrammes/refworks